Doorway from Moutiers-Saint-Jean – French – The Metropolitan Museum of Art https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/470313
The Cloisters: The Building and the Collection of Mediaeval Art, in Fort Tryon Park
The Cloisters: The Building and the Collection of Mediaeval Art, in Fort Tryon Park
From the former choir screen of the Cathedral of Strasbourg; C. Joret, Paris ; [ Henri Daguerre, Paris ] ; J. H. Fitzhenry (until d. 1913) ; his sale, Christie, Manson and Woods (November 18-19, 24-26, 1913) ; [ Alphonse Kann French, Paris (1/2 interest sold 1933)] ; [ Demotte Inc
The Cloisters: The Building and the Collection of Mediaeval Art in Fort Tryon Park
Administrator Christina Alphonso gives visitors a tour of the Christmastide decorations adorning The Met Cloisters this holiday season.
3,000 ivy leaves used in the decorations were picked by the staff in Fort Tryon Park
The Greek temple with its mathematically proportioned columns and pediments became reborn as mansion, church, bank, museum, or other commercial institution.
Adam (1728–1792), whose interiors such as the Etruscan dressing room at Osterley Park
Read the history of The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Located in Fort Tryon Park in northern Manhattan, on a spectacular four-acre lot
How many millions have climbed the Great Staircase since Tiepolo’s Triumph of Marius was unrolled from its giant storage drum in 1965?
for decades in the dark of that Adirondack storage unit, too big for his Central Park
The legends that grew up around him hold that both his conception and birth were miraculous.
He gave his first sermon ( 1980.527.4) in a deer park in Sarnath, on the outskirts
Inscription: In stone, within image, lower left corner: „J.M.I. Del.“In stone, beneath image, lower left: „F. E. [sic] PALMER „; lower right, „LITH. OF CURRIER & IVES, N.Y.“; lower center, „Entered according to Act of Congress AD 1868, by Currier & Ives, in the Clerk’s Office of the District Court for the Southern District of N
COLGATE/TUXEDO PARK/TUXEDO, N.Y." Adele S.
From the monastery of San Baudelio de Berlanga, near Soria; [ Leon Levi (from 1922)] ; [ Gabriel Dereppe French, Paris and New York (by 1927–sold 1952)] ; co-owned by Clowes Fund and Elijah B. Martindale (1952–61)
The Cloisters: The Building and the Collection of Medieval Art in Fort Tryon Park
from 1886]; William Graham’s daughter, Lady Horner (Frances Jane Graham), Mells Park